Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There are various popular kinds of leisure activities in many countries, one of them is shopping. An activity such as shopping will not become popular without a reason. So, in this essay, I will examine several reasons that support the fact on the positive and negative side. Moreover, in my opinion, shopping, in the digital era, is indispensable and has become an integral part of human daily life. On the one hand, shopping would become a positive activity, if the consumers limit their desires in useful things. First, people often go shopping because they should fulfill their needs. For instance, buying some clothes or home appliances. Second, shopping also helps people to reduce their anxiety because when someone does the shopping, they tend to feel happy and comfortable due to the serotonin, a hormone that causes feeling convenient is released. Third, shopping also can be an alternative to people preventing them from negative activities. On the other hand, this activity ought to be restricted to things that are useful daily because if shopping is not restricted, it will shape a negative habit. For instance, people would lose their control in determining the important things for them so they tend to spend their money without getting anything. Moreover, nowadays, we can access the Internet easily and as we know, the Internet supports everyone who wants to shop more and more because it provides market place for everyone who wants to buy something from home. Therefore, it would form people having a consumerism mindset. To sum up, although the benefits of shopping have many advantages for human life, people should restrict their desires from buying something that does not give added value to their life. Also, people should realize the negative effects appeared from shopping.