in this society male sports are given more attention than female sports. Why it is so.? does this trend have a positive or negative impact on society.?

In today's life, sports is gathering more and more reputation and is celebrated all around the world. People believe male sports is given a considerable amount of attention in comparison to female sports. It is the patriarchal culture and lack of support for females to enter sports, that has led to this notion. In my mind, this is completely unfair and have a solid negative impact on society, as it does not support gender equality. To commence with, we have an immensely male dominating society in all sports aspects. Male superiority ideology was planted in our brains through movies, books and of course by the bygones generation, and it still prevails within us. For the same purpose, male sport is backed up by hefty investments in advertisement making it more available to the public. Since childhood boys are given more respect and freedom to choose what they desire to do in life. Some are actually pushed to pursue sports more than academics. For instance, Max Verstappen was trained to be an F1 racer from an early age, and by the age of,24 he is already the F1 world champion. And for a matter of fact, F1 does not allow a female participant. Females are equally talented, it's just a matter of making it accessible for them to pursue sports as a career. Another supporting reason would be the lack of support from society to promote female sports or females in general. Girls are thought of as emotional fools and are thought to be incapable of doing anything other than household chores. From an early age, girls are bound to follow lots of rules and restrictions due to molestation and biased society settings. This makes it impossible for them to pursue a sports career. Even if few succeed in breaking the social norms and achieving something good in sports, it is not advertised enough to bring to it peoples attention, thus not gaining the reputation it should get. For instance, After tons of hardship, Mary Com, the famous Indian boxer, got only one lac rupee for getting a gold medal in the Olympics, whereas when an Indian cricket team wins, they get 1 crore rupee. Although the situation is changing nowadays, people are more promoting and making movies on female sportspeople, but it's a long way to make female sports primary. To conclude it, definitely, male dominance and lack of communal support to females are the sole reasons for male sports ruling the media currently, but in my opinion, this needs to change as it brings a huge negative impact on society which promotes gender inequality.