The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. Do you believe that the advantages of increasing tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Thanks to the advances in global travelling, people nowadays can spend lesser money going abroad than before, which leads to a boom in the tourism industry. Although this trend may raise environmental problems, it will also help local people who are on low incomes. In my opinion, the poor will be better off having more tourists from overseas despite the environmental challenges that people will face. The greatest benefit of having a prosperous tourism industry is that the living standard of people who live below the poverty line can be improved, which would have been otherwise impossible if tourists had not come. This is because they do not possess special skills that are required for a decent job but can only sell their service or handicrafts to their customers. For example, there are only two main sources of income in Sri Lanka, namely the tea industry and tourism. If global tourism is decreasing, it is not difficult to imagine that half of them will lose their jobs, which will greatly impact their lives. However, the main challenge that low-cost travelling will pose is environmental problems due to the fact that it encourages more travellers to go overseas, which further increases the usage of flights and local transportation. As a result, it greatly exacerbates the deterioration of air pollution. For instance, scientists from World Health Organization have proved that the air quality, no matter in which country, is inversely proportional to how frequently cars and flights are used. In conclusion, travelling between countries is becoming cheaper which accelerates the growth of tourism. While individuals will no doubt face some environmental problems brought by flourishing tourism, it is of utmost importance that poor people's living standards can be improved. From my point of view, a lower cost in international travel makes people's lives more advantageous than disadvantageous.