Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Sharing information with or without charge is now controversial. Some people advocate the free spreading of valuable knowledge because of its benefits to individuals and society, while others oppose that there is some important information that can not be speared to all. In my view of point, I agree with the second opinion. On the one hand, some reasons have been held out why people support sharing information related to scientific research, business and the academic world freely. Firstly, as for individuals, valuable knowledge would be useful in facilitating their work and study. For instance, if a successful businessman shares experience about establishing and running a business effectively, many others can learn from it and start their own business the right way. Secondly, society has a knowledgeable workforce since knowledge is exchanged and individuals can access ideas that are worth sharing. For example, the programs introducing more effective and attractive teaching methods can be accessed by different teachers who then apply them in their classes. On the other hand, I strongly believe some valuable information should not be spread freely and need a charge. The initial reason is that some pieces of information have been discovered based on a lot of effort and hard work of an individual or even a team. Securing a monopoly of the information is a way to show people's respect and gratitude to the creators. In addition, the information may be related to the benefits and sustainable development of companies or organizations in a long run. If their opponent firms stole the data, they would own and copy easily without paying hard work, then dispose the owner company of the info. That is why many large businesses such as KFC, Pepsi,... have to protect their secret recipes. In conclusion, although some people are in favour of sharing academic knowledge freely, I strongly believe that some information should not be shared because of its importance and value.