The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars cause many problems.what are those problems? In order to reduce problems,should we discourage people to use cars? Give reasons?

Today, a personal car or two is considered almost as a basic necessity everywhere. But we are also witnessing the environmental damage caused due to the pollution from the billions of cars being used the world over. To add to the litany, is the noise pollution, the congested traffic, the parking issues, accidents etc. Thus, in order to reduce problems, it is high time that we should discourage people to use personal cars. The Ford 'Model-T', the people's car, was first manufactured in the United States. Suddenly, the common man was liberated. This car was affordable and allowed everyone to travel freely and independently. The sales of this car skyrocketed and soon this idea was copied worldwide. Truly, only cities like New York, London or Mumbai have adequate means of public transport. Thus for many areas, especially semi-urban and rural ones, the personal vehicle provides the only means of transport. However, as outlined earlier, a plethora of problems are being seen due to the widespread use of the automobile. The biggest damage has been to the environment. The toxic exhaust gases from the engines contain harmful levels of sulphur dioxide, carbon monoxide etc. which not only causes health problems but also destroys the vital ozone layer. Another major problem is noise pollution, which too is a health hazard. Also, increased accidents and cases of road rage, traffic congestion and parking issues exist due to so many automobiles on the roads. Some cities like London, are imposing a congestion tax on vehicle owners to prevent them from using their cars. Thus a multi-pronged approach is needed to prevent people from using cars. Punitive measures like vehicle tax, road tax, congestion tax etc. should be levied and at the same time, excellent public transport facilities should be created so that people travel in them. Also, like the Delhi government, other governments too should run advertisement campaigns to use public transport. Thus, with cooperation, there will be judicious use of personal means of transport.