In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

The rapid technological developments and innovation have enabled companies to build vehicles that can be driven without any driver. Although automatic cars, buses and trucks in the future could bring certain drawbacks with regards to job loss, I believe that the positives of these types of transportation clearly have more advantages than disadvantages. There are several benefits for passengers travelling without any driver-operated systems. One of the key benefits for people is that they can travel independently without any driving skills and a valid license. Indeed, It takes a lot of effort in terms of time and money to learn to drive efficiently and to obtain a driving license. An average driver, for instance, takes at least 3 attempts to pass the tests required to drive on Indian roads even after taking a few months of classes. Therefore, vehicles that do not need driving could be beneficial to those who fail to clear the necessary requirements to drive confidently. Another added advantage is that the automatically run cars, buses and trucks could be useful in avoiding the problem of accidents. Indeed, humans usually tend to disobey traffic rules or commit fatal mistakes while driving that could put others at risk of losing lives or cause permanent disability. For instance, a recent article in Times Now showed that the traffic departments, particularly in cities generated 20% of its revenue in the year 2021 by collecting fines due to reckless driving. Driverless systems with inbuilt sophisticated and intelligent software, on the other hand, would not only be efficient in travelling carefully by adhering to the rules but also be smart enough to sense danger and take immediate steps to prevent damage. Although automatic travel provides benefits in terms of safety and training, there is one main drawback that must be noted. A huge population in the cities who typically earn their living by driving various means of transport such as trucks, taxis and buses, might lose employment if the majority of passengers begin travelling by driverless cars. For instance, a number of unskilled labour including accounting, billing which were carried out by humans a few years ago are not taken over by intelligent robots, causing overnight unemployment to those involved in such jobs. Without any doubt, automated vehicles would certainly make jobs of many people involved in repair, maintenance and driving redundant but would clearly improve the quality of the overall transport system. In conclusion, it is clear that the positive aspects of a driverless transportation system clearly outweigh the negatives. While automatic travelling devices could be a reason for unemployment, these systems will allow travellers to transport without driving skills and could reduce accidental deaths and disability.