One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The results of improving medical facilities are that the life expectancy of humans is getting higher, and people are staying healthy for prolonged periods. There are some positive as well as some negative aspects, however, I think later outweighs the former. One of the most important drawbacks of providing good medical care is an increase in population. This is causing deforestation because people require land to live and cutting down trees for construction is causing detrimental effects to flora and fauna. For example, in the USA, forest area has decreased from 3.3 million square kilometres to 3 million square kilometres within a decade leaving several animals homeless. Another disadvantage is the unaffordability of healthcare treatments,especially for the middle and lower class. These newly developed treatments are causing holes in the pocket of the middle class and poor citizens due to which they are becoming bankrupt. On the other hand, the major benefit is that people are now able to spend some more time with their loved ones. In past, children never used to see their grandparents due to the low life expectancy, however, nowadays, children spend an ample amount of time with their grandparents doing activities like playing cards, watching TV shows etc. Moreover, with an improvised medical facility, doctors with the help of advanced equipment can detect several diseases at early and curable stage. For example, survivors of T.B and cancer are increasing due to early detection with the help of advanced equipment. To sum up, I certainly think negatives like overpopulation and expensive treatments outweigh the positives of good medical facilities like early tracking of diseases and family togetherness.