Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion?

Since the past century, the workers have slowly asserted their rights and privileges, and successive governments have acknowledged that after a period of service, the workers need adequate remuneration in their twilight years. However, there are some right-wing economists who propound that, indeed, it is the responsibility of the worker to plan his retirement. In my opinion, both views have merit and need discussion. In the following paragraphs, I will examine and scrutinize the issue to the extent possible. The golden age of the worker was during the communist revolution. Across the socialist states like the Soviet Union, China and Yugoslavia, workers had assured pension and post-retirement medical benefits and housing. This included agricultural and rural workers too. Although, not in its entirety, many liberal democracies adopted these worker -friendly policies. However, all these concessions burdened the state exchequer and many nations found it difficult to make ends meet. Hence, after a period of time, slowly these post-retirement benefits were withdrawn, and the workers were left to fend for themselves. Several market-friendly economists have pointed out to this step-motherly treatment of elderly workers and have argued that instead, these retirees would have been better off had they invested in retirement bonds. The markets always give handsome returns over long periods of time and the retirees would have received more than enough to cover their living and medical expenses. For instance, in the US and Canada, most workers are paid by market-based retirement funds. In conclusion, it is indeed a difficult decision. On one hand, if the worker depends on the state, then he will get a bare minimum but that amount is assured, and on the other hand, market-based saving instruments bring in substantial cash, but they can fail anytime. I think the best option is that the government should assure medical and housing facilities, while encouraging the worker to invest in the market for managing his living expenses.