Q - Heredity and environment play vital role in the development of personality of the individual. We can not separate them into water-tight compartments as both are interconnected. What extent do you agree with the statement?

Who reigns supreme in nature versus nurture? We may never know. However, we do know that close cooperation is needed between the two for the development of an individual. I fully agree with the statement that we cannot separate these two players into water-tight compartments. In the following paragraphs, I will examine this issue in-depth and state my findings. Every human being has a unique genetic makeup. Not just genetics, there is an additional level of complexity called epigenetics. Our genes determine and circumscribe our potentialities; how well can we concentrate, how well can we run or how well can we draw-all is programmed within our genes. Epigenetics determines the extent to which these latent capabilities will express themselves, and to that extent, it is the manifestation of our willpower. For example, it is known that the Sherpas have a gene that allows them to draw greater oxygen than others, and no wonder, the Sherpas are excellent mountain climbers. In this context, we may note that several studies were done by raising identical twins in different families and noting their behaviour. These studies have shown that these siblings tended to behave differently. Thus, the environment and the values instilled during childhood by our family also contributes to our persona. For example, the armed forces train soldiers, so that they lose their individual identities, and forge a new collective identity. In conclusion, heredity provides the road-map for the future development of an individual and the environment allows for the selective expression of those talents. Thus, the final outcome is an amalgamation of heredity and environment.