The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Some people say that humans tend to copy ideas and material things from each other in sectors that are in trend right now such as clothings and general goods. While I believe that people sometimes inspire the ideas from each other, I do not think that they copy exactly from one another. The first reason for this is due to the law and regulations of copyright. A lot of musicians, designers, artists and companies have the copyright and sole ownership of their own logos, products and names so that no one can steal from them. For example, the Apple company and Samsung company have several ongoing lawsuits against each other for several years due to similarities between their products. Secondly, every popular brand and designer has their own unique style and niche of their products and the qualities that they only can offer to consumers. Therefore, I think most people and businessman will try to avoid copying their competitors' products to avoid facing lawsuits and to build their own herd of customers. Another reason is that humans are more likely to inspire from one another rather than imitating the same from each other. In fashion industry, for example, there is a specific trend that people follow at all times. So, although the overall theme and design of the brands may feel similar to each other, after adding their own elements to the garments, people will not feel the same about each company's clothings. Moreover, while some people might steal another group's idea to manufacture goods and sell them for a cheaper price, customers will be able to differentiate the quality between the original than the dupe. When choosing an item to purchase, consumers will be more like to choose the one that costs a little bit more but will probably lasts longer. Hence, even though there are some businesses that will produce identical products of another, most of the people will only take inspirations and try to upgrade the original design and ideas. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I think that the rates of human being copying each other in industries such as fashion and other departments are quite low.