In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, an increasing number of people argue that students should have a gap year in working or travelling before university. Although I think that this tendency may have some harmful consequences, I believe that the advantages of a gap year for scholars between high school and university can outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand,there are some adverse effects of travelling or working a period before starting university studies. Firstly,students may lose the motivation to study and work hard after they experience life without academic duties and wake up early, as a result, they will probably find a lot of difficulties to back into studies. Secondly, youngers are not mature enough to choose the best decision for them and then the risk of wasting a considerable time on not valuable activities remains higher. For example, some youngers will realise that the most productive activity in this period is watching movies and playing games. On the other hand, there are several reasons why people encourage scholars to have a break from learning while a period. The strongest reason is that learners will have the opportunity to discover other passions and the right and convenient path for them. For instance, some youngers find themselves in Art such as music instead of math or physics, then they will change their career and try to get admission to the college of music. In addition, being face to new people and environment tend to help learners to discover new cultures and be in contact with different persons with different mindsets, consequently, they will be able to communicate easily with others and then they develop their soft skills which help to be more confident and build a character. In conclusion,despite that the weaknesses of having a gap while 12 months for youngsters are significant, I strongly believe that the benefits of h exceed their drawbacks, if students are guided to benefit from this experience.