Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Organizing international sports events such as the Olympics, Commonwealth Games, and Paralympics is beneficial for the host nation. Many individuals in our community agree with this statement and express that it is essential for the overall growth of the nation, while the other members completely oppose this situation and give the counter-argument that "these events are nothing but an abuse of resources and time." In this essay, I am going to elaborate on both opinions and express my viewpoint later in the essay. On the one hand, people state that hosting such sports events not only aids in the increment of national prestige worldwide but also helps in establishing better diplomatic relations with participating nations. Conducting the Olympics or other similar events requires critical analysis of possible foreseeable and unforeseeable outcomes, and also requires accurate planning, which demonstrates the efficiency of a government. Furthermore, participating teams are always accompanied by high-ranking officials from their countries, which is a fantastic opportunity to talk about important matters. For example, in the past, many peace treaties were signed between the host and participating nations during these sports meet-ups. On the contrary, others state that organising these championships means depletion of national resources and wastage of bureaucratic time. For example, choreographing these global athletic meets needs billions of dollars, which is deducted from national treasure and could have been used for the development of the nation. Moreover, instead of devoting work hours to the betterment of the country, ministers are forced to divert their time towards these games. In my opinion, games like these provide a common ground for nations to gather and improve relations among them. However, the costs should be shared equally among the competing federations. To conclude, social gatherings are essential for our societies to thrive, but one state should not be burdened with costs.