Technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that more problems are created by modern automation than solutions. I genuinely disagree with this assertion as I believe that technology is the way forward. Some people might argue that machinery can be used to harm people, thus it should be described in a negative light. It is their belief that some countries today have the potential to use advanced technology to aid in warfare, not just in the physical world, but also on the Internet. Developed nations of the world, such as the USA and China, possess the power to devastate the less advanced sovereign countries by shutting down their power grids, hospitals and even their entire communications systems if push comes to shove. This daunting prospect, some argue, can never outweigh the advantages computerization has to offer. Having said that, I am of the opinion that machinery has largely been a positive influence in our lives. The main positive impact it has had has been on the general quality of life through better healthcare, food, transportation, and communication. It is modern computerization that has enabled us to treat illnesses that were once thought to be incurable. Furthermore, the adoption of machinery in agriculture and factories is what has facilitated better yields and food processing, without which food shortage would be a more concerning problem than it is now. Finally, transportation and communication are two other aspects of our lives that have greatly been improved thanks to advances in automation. No longer do we have to waste time biking or sending letters when there are technologies that help us do these within a fraction of the time they would take. In conclusion, despite some downsides to accepting automation with open arms, I generally consider that were it not for technology we could not enjoy the privileges we have now.