You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

The pace of change in technological advancements has changed our way of communicating, where text messages, emails and other gadgets are used rather than mailing. Personally, I totally agree with this statement as such technologies are faster and more secure forms of communication. One of the cogent reasons behind the decline of letters as means of communication is due to the speed in at which information is transferred in modern communication. With only one click, it is possible to have a conversation with someone from the other side of the world, while using letters such action would have taken considerable more time. For example, I have been living in another country for about a year, and I am in daily contact with my family by cellphone messages. If I have used letters to communicate, I would have had less contact with them because of the time taken to send and receive a letter. Thus, with the fastness promoted by new technologies, people are being able to be closer to each other. Another reason I believe have widespread other communication techs, is the security provided. Although users might suffer from internet hackers, modern technologies provide more guarantees that the recipient will receive what has been delivered to him or her. An example of such a situation I have experienced recently, in which I received a package to my doorstep two days after I have sent it to another location. This occurred because post workers messed up the delivery address. In conclusion, even though many might argue that writing a letter is still a valid way to communicate, I tend to believe that people should embrace the new communication means as they are able to keep people in touch with a fast and more secure approach.