Some people think that sport is very important for society. Others, however, argue that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Concern about the importance of sport has heightened in recent years. Although some individuals believe that sport can be simply considered as a recreational activity, (action?) I think sport is essential to people ’s life because it can improve their physical and mental health status. On the one hand, some people consider that sport does not affect their life massively because it is just one of the activities that be taken in leisure time. For the majority of residents, they do exercise merely because they want to fill up their free time. For example, many people join swimming club or gym after work and the reason behind that is purely finding some recreational activities to spend their time. Were they to be called up by other things such as working, studying, or even friend’s party, they would easily give up playing sport. Therefore, if stopping doing exercise, their life cannot be affected too much. On the other hand, sport can be crucial to individual’s life as it is beneficial for their well-being. Nowadays, there has been a growing tendency for people to lead a sedentary lifestyle, such as sitting in office for more than 8 hours and collapsing in front of a screen to complete their job or browse the internet. However, if they are involved in physical activities, they will have sufficient exercise to offset the adverse effect of sitting all day.(算闭环吗 要不要加对身体好) In addition, sport improves mental wellbeing. People lives in a fiercely competitive society, stuffing from a variety of pressure from time to time. When taking adequate exercise, they can respite from work or study, which help them alleviate the stress.(这里算闭环吗 还是要加mental wellbeing) In conclusion, sport is an imperative element for people due to the advantage of improving physical and mental wellbeing.