A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Improving the living standard is unquestionably the aim of all countries. Some people deem that, the citizens in an urban area will be the sole beneficiary of the improvement of living standards, and the suburb will not enjoy this benefit. In this essay, I will elaborate on the potential reasons responsible for this situation and provide possible solutions. The uneven development of living standards between urban areas and rural areas is because of the two foremost causes. Firstly, one of the reasons is the different regions of the economy. It is undeniable that compared with the rural area, cities always be considered as the centre of financial such as London in the UK and Shanghai in China. Therefore, the demand for the labour force in cities will be higher than citizens in an urban area have more job opportunities, so the government could improve the living standard easier, among them, increase both salaries and welfare. Secondly, urban and rural areas have totally inverse aim on their development. It is undeniable that the primary agriculture industry is the pillar industry in the countryside, and the formation of the economy is quite simple and unitary in rural areas. By contrast, in urban areas, they own prosperous manufacturing industries and tertiary industries. Consequently, there are adequate products and choices in cities to improve living standards. However, there are still possible measures that can be taken in order to solve the increasing gap of living standards between urban and rural areas. A concerted effort must be made to allow for social mobility, which means the government needs to transfer some urban resources to the countryside and ensure the opportunities that are owned by the city-dwellers could also be provided equally for people living in the remote area. have must be made available to those in rural areas too. Education, for instance, the education level and teaching quality are totally disequilibria between city-dwellers and rural citizens. Thus, governments should construct libraries and provide training for teachers in the countryside just as what they have done in the city. In addition, the government could construct a different plan for urban and rural areas, in order to improve their living standards simultaneously. Consequently, every region, either rural or urban, should have proper plans for improving living standards. In conclusion, although during the process of improving living standards, rural areas see no benefit at all and are often forgotten or left behind and catch only a glimpse of the standard of living city-dwellers, there are still some measures that can be taken to avoid such an extreme outcome. I believe, with certain governments' actions, this situation will be improved.