Some people think that advertising on TV is useless and others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Advertising has been an important fashion for companies to contact their customers. Nowadays, one can find products or services’ commercials on television, while surfing the web, in social media, or even in journals and magazines. There are people who support the idea that advertising on TV is not useful anymore, while others believe the opposite. In this essay, it will be discussed both views, as well as the reason why I think that online announcements are the best form of advertising. There are many ways of publicity, and adverts on TV had been played an important role for many corporations. As televisions have become more affordable, it is supposed that in each house, at least at dinner time, families reunite around the screen, watching the news and being stimulated by the adverts which appear constantly. Moreover, for elderly people, television is a constant presence in their lives, keeping them company throughout the day. In these cases, advertising on TV might have an effect on those groups of people, namely the older ones, which retain what they saw on the screens and lead them to buy or ask for a certain service. Although the high average number of televisions that households possess, youth generations spend more and more time on the internet and social media. Furthermore, companies have now the possibility of understanding people’s tastes, which means that it is easier to find specific targets for specific adverts. While searching on Google, each online page that is visited is saved on a database, making a profile of the user. If someone is searching for shoes, for instance, soon they will be receiving publicity about the same subject, from other stores. In my opinion, this is why this kind of advertisement is more useful and effective than publicity on television. Using the internet and the tools that now are available, corporations can know exactly what their customers are looking for. In conclusion, there are arguments to support both opinions about the uselessness of television advertising. Since there are different groups and targets, adverts on TV can make sense, mainly for the elderly population. Despite this, youth generations are totally connected to the internet, and this is the best way to reach them. Once there is an upward tendency for internet usage, in my opinion, this is the best way to make advertisements.