Is freedom to speak is necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer

In this day and age, many people are of the opinion that freedom of speech is absolutely essential for the public who are living in a free world. In my view, the freedom to speak in public will mean that they are able to stand up for their rights and this is why it is a necessity in modern life. In the following essay, I will provide my reason to agree with the viewpoint and support it with examples. To start with, freedom to speak freely among people is a required right for people as it allows them to understand and raise their voice against injustice, where they are denied their rights. Different experiences of people coming from different backgrounds will mean that they may not have the same number of rights, and this may mean that they are not equally compensated. For example, if freedom is made essential, then people coming from different backgrounds are able to speak up about their rights in a public forum platform. On the other hand, freedom to speak among the community may lead to consequences like rumours or misinformation that can spread due to actions. Moreover, these can be responsible for inciting violence among communities, if they are not controlled. For instance, in India, at election time leaders speak poisons for their opposite party members only because of the freedom of speech. On the whole, freedom of speech is a good sign of a free society as it allows people from different backgrounds to stand up for their rights and protects them, therefore I believe that is compulsory for it to exist, but at the same time, if it is not controlled, it can lead to violent acts committed in the society.