In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem.

It is a well-known fact that 10 per cent of the world’s population still lives in hunger, despite the improvements made in agriculture and technology. There are several reasons for this undesirable situation which will be discussed in detail in the below essay. To begin with, the majority of farmers in rural areas hold agricultural land of less than 1 acre. In the order to break even the costs accrued in cultivation, many of them yield to ill practices and use more pesticides and insecticides in farming, as result, it might produce more crops in the short term and in the long term it makes soil not only and unfertile but also uncultivable which will severely impact the food availability and lead to inflation. Recent studies conclude that due to high emissions of greenhouse gases, causing hurricanes and storms, which in turn damages the crops on a wide range across the coastal lines. Further, as per agricultural scientists,, recommendation farmers should adopt traditional farming methods and go organic, which will not only increase the production but also makes agriculture sustainable, as the input costs will be considerably reduced and increase the profits. It will also keep the minerals and nutrients of the soil intact which ensures bread and butter for the generations to come. To conclude, farming is not a business but a necessity, as the “right to food” is a fundamental right of every citizen. People can afford food but not natural resources, hence it is everyone’s responsibility to protect nature, which in turn will protect us and provide bread for the generations to come.