Some say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our life. Discuss both view and state your opinion.

In this fast-moving world, advertisement has become part and parcel of every individual’s life. Some segments of society reckon that communities tend to purchase unnecessary stuff by seeing advertisements; however, counterparts of society insist that it is very helpful to know about newly launched products in the market. There are split opinions regarding this topic, though both have their pros and cons as per everyone’s perspective. Therefore, before commenting on my decision both opinions would be discussed. To embark on, there is no doubt for some people who prefer to buy things with the help of commercial advertisements. Firstly, they believe that there are numerous ways ranging from world wide web, television, on the street, mobile phones, posters to a brochure. So, we get enormous information about the stuff by sitting at home in order to save our tremendous time to do other activities which are essential in job prospects or carrier related. For example, one of my friends recently bought a fridge for just 20k by seeing a poster on the road, whereas the actual price is 30K. Thus, people cannot escape from advertising due to such exemption and concession. Why does it is convincing people to buy non-essential things? The underlying reason behind this is that they use various types of strategies to promote their products and service to attract more public. Besides that, in recent days, children and youngsters are attracted by the latest toys, fashionable clothes and modern devices, which are not necessary things for them and put enormous pressure on parents to buy expensive products. To further corroborate the above view, an article published in ‘The times’- stated that owing to the increasing advertisement of cell phones, more than seventy per cent of students have used mobile phones in the schools and, as a result, they are not able to concentrate on their study. In conclusion, although there are several benefits of advertisements, I would say that mankind has to prefer to purchase stuff which is decisive in their life. That is why I opine that the advantages of advertising a product are clearly outweighed the disadvantages.