In many countries, paying for things using the mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Technical advancement in all aspects of human life is developing rapidly. The financial area is also not untouched, technology changes the way we pay for things by developing mobile phone apps. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages regarding the increase in the use of apps in day-to-day life. On the one hand, there are a plethora of advantages for the increasing trend of paying for things using mobile phone apps. The most important one is, the exact amount that could be paid and no dependency on returning the change for a certain amount bill. Such as, Oxford university research said that every year grocery store makes 10% of the revenue by either providing chocolate in exchange for an odd amount needed to pay back after deducting the bill amount or keeping the change due to lack of exact amount required to pay back. Furthermore, as physical currency is not carried by an individual, the threat of theft is mitigated. For example, Times24 articles claim that snitching and running of valuable items crime rate has dropped significantly due to digital payment apps. To buy expensive items people do digital transactions instead of hard cash. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages associated with this process. Firstly, cybercrime is very prevalent and mobile applications could be hacked easily, finding some loopholes. For instance, the OTP is a very sensitive piece in the money transaction process, if it gets in the wrong hands by any means financial loss could be easily caused. Moreover, a lack of regulations on private company products could cause regulatory issues. To illustrate, a technical survey stated that more than 30 million private startup gets created every year and 99% of them get closed due to various challenges caused due to unforeseen reasons. This 99% of companies could cause various issues or losses to common individuals who get attracted by lucrative offers provided by these applications. To conclude, after analysing this development from both angles, it seems that, it has more advantages than drawbacks and could be worked on by the concerned authorities and companies to overcome these challenges. Hence, digital payments using mobile phone apps should be promoted and used widely to remove physical currency dependency.