More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, an increasing number of individuals are wanting to own luxurious items such as cars, clothing, and other items that are produced by famous brands. Such phenomenon is increasing all over the globe and producing a negative development. In my personal opinion, such phenomenon is a negative development and will further discuss reasons in this essay. First and foremost, luxurious items are becoming a status of wealth amongst rich individuals and the exposure such celebrities are getting on television and social media is increasing. As such luxurious items are becoming a symbol of wealth and success, more everyday individuals who are financially struggling are opting for loans from banks to disguise their true identity. As a result, these individuals are financially struggling. Thus, such phenomenon is having a negative development on individuals. In addition to this, as the number of individuals wanting to own luxurious items from famous brands is growing, it's going to increase the mental problems. To illustrate this point, people do not like being behind on the latest trends as it makes them feel like they don't belong in certain groups. As a result, those individuals who are not able to afford these luxury items are going to feel worthless and like they don't fit in. Such problems will lead to a growing number of mental illnesses such as depression and to suicide in extreme cases. To conclude, as the number of celebrities with luxury items from famous brands increase, an increasing number of individuals wanting to own luxury items will simultaneously increase. This in return will produce a negative outcome. Therefore, I strongly agree that such a phenomenon is producing a negative development.