In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, countryside residents are migrating to urban areas; as a result, the population of rural areas has decreased significantly, while the number of city residents is increasing. I believe that this is complectely negative development because migration can negatively affect countries’ agricultural systems, as well as property prices in the city area have been increasing. Consequently, people face a lot of challenges economically, when they migrate to cities. Firstly, although people prefer to move to city areas, their agricultural lands are the main problem. If people migrate to urban areas, they cannot spend time on agricultural work, which is very important to improve countries’ annual crop production. For instance, a lot of people in Sri Lanka are moving to urban areas with their children because people who want to give a high-level education to their children, are not working on their cultivation lands. As a result, those lands become useless lands and, farmland is destroyed by animals such as elephants and pigs. Moreover, demand for urban land has been increasing significantly as people migrate to cities. Therefore, residents need a lot of money to buy new houses and pay monthly rent. Even though people have many expenses these days, they have to pay their house rent and property bills, which affect their economy. For example, my uncle, who sold his village house, wanted to buy a new house in Colombo, which is the capital of Sri Lanka. However, he did not have enough money to buy a new house, so he applied for a bank loan, which was a reason to reduce his economic freedom. In conclusion, people have lots of requirements in their lives, and they move to an urban area to achieve those easily. As a result, people forget their agricultural lands, and they face a lot of economic problems. However, urbanisation is the most popular topic these days.