Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that one of the most effective methods to encourage employees’ work is by giving the benefit based on their productivity. I strongly agree with this statement. However, there are some considerations applied for certain positions or jobs. Giving employees rewards based on their performances will boost their work motivation. Clear objectives and job goals will make the employees can measure their performance and understand the finish point of their job. Sales executives and factory workers are the typical examples of position that is relevant to the rewards system. For instance, if a salesman was ordered to sell 200 items in a day and he is still selling half of it in his ¾ day, then he should know that he has to twice his effort to make it achieved with the rest ¼ day he has. The same condition works for the factory workers. They can rate their performance according to the production achieved and what should they achieve until the end of the day. On the other hand, there should be a different approach of rewards system for certain positions especially in the service field which cannot simply adopt the previous method. For example, medical workers and teachers do not have a production target and sales. All of their work can be rated on how satisfied the medical customers are or how successful the students are according to the service they provide. The performances target can be converted into a quantitative assessment by providing a questionnaire to the customer. For example, the questionnaire can be provided with some questions and customers can give the rate of 1 to 5 for each item. The rate numbers will be the target of the workers as they can be used as their performances indicators and rewards awarding. In conclusion, the best method to enhance employees’ performance is by giving them rewards for achieving their goals. The goal can be considered as production target, sales, and also rate which is determined based on the field of the work.