Some people prefer to be nocturnal during exam days and go through the entire syllabus in the last few days, whereas others have regular habits, studying a little every day. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both studying patterns and choose which one is a better way of action according to you.

The effectiveness of studying just before the exams is debatable. It is prefered by some to study on a regular basis instead of the last moment preparation. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of both studying patterns and argue why studying a little every day is superior. The first aspect to point out is that studying at night without having enough sleep has a negative impact on the brain. It is well-known that if individuals do not sleep well, the function of the brain will not be effective as they expect. Additionally, scientific finding shows that the brain organises memories while an individual is sleeping. Therefore, the style of staying awake at midnight to cram entire studies is not recommended. One advantage of this style is that a person can focus on their studies only for a short period, leading them to have more free time except for the exam weeks. In my view of point, this can be stressful for learners during the exam weeks as they do not have enough time to prepare for their tests although they might enjoy themselves the rest of school days. On the other hand, studying a little on a daily basis has only positive points. For example, one can make study plans that are not stressful for them. Additionally, this will allow them to alter their plans when it is necessary. If an individual was sick and could not review their studies as they had planned, they can change their plans once they recover without having deadlines for the exams. Secondly, according to the scientific findings, repetitive exercise will be effective in terms of memorising. This memory will stay longer as their long-term knowledge. Knowledge is a vital aspect when it comes to having a quality of life. If one is knowledgeable, they will have a wide range of opportunities later in their life. To conclude, studying little by little on a daily basis has only positive points and cramming the entire syllabus at night in the last few days has more negative points. Therefore, people should be encouraged to study every day in order to achieve their academic goals.