In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, so many people tend to purchase in famous malls rather than small shops for whatever reason. I strongly believe that this is a negative development for a society. On the positive side, as we are living in a rush life. Customers could get benefit from a huge mall by providing several products there. So that, they could find anything they desire in one place at a time which helps them save time in order to do other important things. Furthermore, famous and large shopping centres provide plenty of services such as hair salons, restaurants or even indoor activities for the juvenile. Obviously, it is considered as one of a community place that allowed people to meet each other and participate in lots of activities there. On the negative side, when people often go to big shops rather than small ones, it could lead to financial trouble for a small shopkeeper, in other words, most grocery shops have to store various products to distract and keep customers to come back. It will be a drastic disaster to their shop when the number of customers is dramatically dropped so that they to waste or throw away some goods which could be expired especially vegetables and meats. Moreover, in the countryside, small shops, they don’t have many choices for customers that is why people opt to go to large stores then. In addition, this market development system will destroy constantly and widely tiny shops by reducing prices and various sale promotions thus small retailers finally shut themselves down due to the marketing strategy of the major store. To sum up, both of these consequences put forward valid points. However, I consider that development definitely occurs more negative consequences than positive ones. I believe helping small shops will benefit everyone in society.