More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

"A healthy people leads to a healthy nation" so goes the old adage. Every country needs to keep its citizens healthy if it is to remain productive for many years to come. The use of modern medicines, however, has come under attack with many suggesting that we should return to traditional medicine use. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this notion based on the benefits that can be derived from it. This essay will tackle reasons why a return to traditional medicine use is vital in order to sustain good health. Two reasons are behind this factor. Firstly, modern medications unlike traditional, contains too many chemicals that end up doing more harm than good to an individual. Take, for example, some painkillers recently introduced on the market, that are thought to contain more than 60 per cent toxins that can cause damage to a person as compared to one who might have used traditional medicine instead for a similar purpose. In other words, even though it might seem to be an advancement in science to introduce modern medication, the addition of chemicals distorts its purpose. The second reason linked to the first is that, as opposed to modern medicines, traditional medication is readily available and at no charge to anyone. To illustrate, a survey that was conducted on the use of Mango leaves as medicine to cure dry cough, proved that it was 89 per cent effective and that it was widely used by the masses because of its easy availability and accessibility. In contrast to modern medicines which should be bought in order to obtain, traditional medication exists in bulk and for free. In conclusion, I personally fully conquer with the idea of pursuing traditional medicine as the prime means of treatment of illnesses in comparison to modern medicines. Going forward, this will help reduce further disease burden.