In come countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do think are the causes of these problems and what measures should be take to solve them?

"A healthy people leads to a healthy nation" so goes the old adage. Nowadays, a lot of people weigh more than the average weight of a healthy person which culminates in reduced physical wellbeing. This essay will tackle some of the reasons for the current trend and what could be done about it. Two reasons are behind many people's diminished health and fitness. Firstly, there are too many unhealthy foods available and easily accessible for consumption. For instance, according to a survey on the effects of an unhealthy diet on people's health conducted by the University of Zambia in 2004, it was determined that unhealthy foods from convenience stores contributed over 78 per cent to this problem. Secondly, only a handful of individuals take regular exercises seriously while the rest do not seem to have any interest in it. This in itself results in poor health and lack of fitness as some individuals do not work out. To illustrate, statistics prove that 3 in every 5 people who do not engage in regular exercises are obese and unfit individuals. Gladly, though, there are ways of minimizing this burden which is easy to attain. Firstly, governments should introduce awareness programmes to sensitize people on the grave dangers of obesity and lack of exercise. For example, governments can organise posters on advertising billboards and promote health programmes through the media in order to accomplish this. These methods will not only enlighten the public about the issue at hand but also encourage them to participate in improving their own health. In conclusion, for any country to achieve the goal of having healthy citizens, it should enforce certain measures to ensure that everyone abides by them. By extension, each individual citizen whether obese or not should take it upon himself to regularly exercise in order to remain fit.