Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinions?

While many individuals accept that sentencing longer imprisonment is the optimum method to lessening crime, some believe that there are other different solutions to reduce crime. Although some people would argue that long imprisonment as a punishment is an effective method, I strongly believe that rehabilitation is a correct problem solution to reducing crimes. On the one hand, the purpose of imprisonment to criminals is to teach them that this is a consequence of committed crimes. Punishment is a kind of justice for a victim. Moreover, punishment is a way to limit crimes. Criminal deserves hardship on their action. The heavier crime they commit the much longer prison sentence they would be received. For instance, in United State, a few serial killers were sentenced to over a hundred years. On the other hand, only giving punishments cannot be fully controlled crime rates. A productive way to handle crime is rehabilitation. Punishment does not work for all crimes, especially, youth-related crimes. Most of them even don't know what they did and its consequences. Therefore, the government creates more rehabilitation programmes than punishment because they provide the support that can reform the criminals. For example, in the UK, the government provides new identities to inmates who completed the programme. To conclude, the effective response to crime has been a matter of debate between punishment and rehabilitation. However, I agree that reforming the criminals is an effective way and they will be able to have a chance back into society again with their fresh new life.