In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future era, transportation will undergo considerable changes. All vehicles will be driven without drivers and travellers will be the only individuals who use these vehicles. While there are some disadvantages associated with driverless transportation, I believe the main advantages are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential drawback of the widespread use of driverless vehicles may be a rise in the unemployment rate. People whose occupations are related to driving will be derived out of business (such as taxi drivers). Therefore, they may face serious problems from financial issues to mental disorders. Another perceived negative is that the speed of the Internet in numerous deprived areas is challenging. Moreover, nowadays, people who live in developing countries may not have access to the Internet. Since driverless vehicles are reliant on the Internet and navigation apps, they are unable to work in some regions. On the other hand, a primary benefit of driverless vehicles is that they contribute to the protection of the environment. From an environmental perspective, renewable energy resources will be replaced with fossil fuels. This may result in a decrease in global temperatures and the environmental impacts of global warming. A further advantage is safer driving on the roads. In other words, the number of car accidents will decrease because people who drive carelessly are not compelled to drive on their own. Consequently, the casualties of such disastrous accidents will decline notably. For example, in Iran, approximately 27,000 individuals are being killed due to car accidents. On balance, it is true that driverless vehicles would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its benefits in terms of environmental preservation and safety override the disadvantages.