Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are tremendously controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the impact that taking up sports has on the community. While some people claim that it plays a paramount significant role in people’s daily life, others make a statement that sports solely serve as recreational activities. Personally, I would consider myself an advocate of the former idea. Evidently, for some people, pursuing a sport is considered to have a trivial impact the same as entertaining activities. Especially working adults who are up to the ear with their hectic schedule, tend to be insensitive and not intrigued with exercising. They only pursue sport as a tactic of breaking away from their daily responsibilities and letting their hair down. For example, amatuer football matches which take place in small circles of local people, is considered one of the most effective means of entertaining in Vietnam for people to release their pressure and stay healthy at the same time. Therefore, to a certain part of the community, sport solely accounts for their recreational purposes. Despite those who are unaware of it, sporty affairs are an indispensable part of people’s lives. Indeed, playing sports is believed to not only do wonders for people’s health but also offer players a sense of unity by breaking the cultural differences. For instance, World Cup - an international football tournament which is organized every four years in an attempt to strengthen sportsmanship in different countries around the world. Thus, besides the already acknowledged perks, sports serve an undeniably significant part in today's society. In conclusion, although sports may be underestimated by many people, I would contend that it plays an essential role in different aspects of our lives. With a view to enhancing people’s health as well as forming a close bond with other nations, people should pay closer attention as well as a more positive attitude towards sports.