Many people are changing their careers. what are the reasons for changing? and can there be any positive or negative impact by person or by society as whole.

In recent times, career shifting has been widely happening among workers. The phenomenon is due to higher pay in several growing sectors. While improving their life quality through the transition, the process might cause a restart in one's career progression and require lots of resources. The most known reason behind someone changing their profession is the lack of fair compensation in their current state. While people are doing conventional jobs, the modern dynamic market grew demands for new positions with the newest specific skill requirements. As the demand rose, the opportunities came with better benefits to catch the best talent. As a result, many chose to take the career mobility path to gain the advantages. For instance, recent studies show almost 100.000 workers shifted in the last year from main majors such as economics, law, and engineering to tech jobs as the entry-level pay is at least twice as high as in the mentioned sectors. Career changes have both plus and minus. Besides the financial security that allows people to achieve improved living standards, the career change requires reskilling and upskilling which delivers new enthusiasm and fresh spirit by learning and broadening their knowledge for the new occupation. Take, for example, it's common knowledge that almost every career changer takes self-learning courses, seminars, or certifications to pave their way into a new job. On the other side, the preparation itself costs money and time which may not be available for all people or the company that provides the training. This also means they need to go all over the junior position again and need a longer time to achieve managerial position compared to others who stayed. To illustrate, the data showed that career shifters took an average of 5 years longer to be promoted to supervisors in their new job. In conclusion, people are taking advantage of new career prospects as they serve better financial benefits and it bring better welfare and great professional development growth. But, the possibility of career regression and the materials needed to kickstart the journey presents as the drawbacks.