When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sport facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current times, when a city is planned, there are several distinct amenities that are extremely important to construct. Places where people can practise physical activities, as also as green and public areas might be considered of the most interest. In my opinion, these types of facilities are the ones that attract citizens to visit those towns or even chose them to live. Public parks, as well as public gardens, allow the population to enjoy the sun and the fresh air. The existence of such amenities in a town leads their population to make the most of their time outdoors, while they put their bodies in movement. One positive example of this is children. When the youngsters have the possibility of being outside their houses, they tend to run everywhere and spend their energy in a physical activity which is good for their health. Most children also enjoy discovering new things, exploring nature, being in contact with animals and insects. In addition, all these activities rise feelings of curiosity and respect for our environment. In my opinion, and taking the aforementioned point, when someone is choosing a place to live, those arguments might be quite important to determine that choice. Additionally, creating more sports facilities might be indispensable to improve one’s health. What I mean is that, if a town offers satisfactory infrastructures, their citizens will probably feel more appealed to use them. Sports pavilions, outdoor rings, volleyball and basketball venues, just to mention some examples, can bring the community together, making them try new activities and enjoy their free time. What is more, if a person starts exercising, this will have a beneficial impact on their health, by lowering the blood pressure, for instance, or improving muscular resistance. Some research found that physical exercise increases our dopamine and serotonin, contributing to combating depression. That is why, in my opinion, places that are sports-related welcome the community to live or visit that city. Conversely, spending all day in a shopping centre, with artificial lights and air-conditioned, might lead customers to feel stressed and spend money on unimportant material objects. To conclude, I believe that having public places, as well as sports facilities, might be beneficial to a town, allowing their population to enjoy their free time in a healthy way.