The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The debate over the optimal aim of science has sparked considerable controversy. While some argue that scientific research should solely favour political prospects, I, along with others, contend that it is most effective for society if science focuses on improving people's quality of life as this essay further elaborates on. One major positive aspect of this ambition is the happiness of the country it brings about. By leading an enhanced version of life, society enjoys financial stability due to the innovate ways of tackleing economic issues that scientific research has introduced. Subsequently, whilst having a boosted mental state, people credit scientists for their satisfactory lives. This appreciation will serve as an incentive, fostering a sense of accomplishment in scientist and ameliorate their life satisfaction rates as well, ultimately contributing to a harmonious and delightful community. Moreover, it entices them for further innovations. In Iran, for instance, many researchers have reported that they find their contributions to society highly rewarding since the country attribute them for the economic recovery, highlighting this prospect's profound impact at not only societal but also personal and financial levels. On the other hand, some may claim that the resources and scientific attention should be dedicated to governments' aims such as conquering other nations. They assume when scientists put adequate effort into constructing war instruments such as atomic bombs, they have a greater likelihood of achieving an edge on a global scale by winning in wars. Furthermoe, they argue that the occupation of other countries result in prosperity and economic upturn. For instance, many blame Gaza, where people are at wartime, not allocating much time and effort into making war machines which has heightened their chance of losing at the war and a subsequent economic recession. However, this perspective overlooks the fact that such efforts come at the cost of people's lives, including indigenous ones. In conclusion, although some tend to focus solely on devoting all the scientific attention to boosting countries' global status, I firmly believe that countries would be a more conducive place for individual, societal, and financial development if taking enhancing the lives of others into account when pursueing scientific subjects.