Government should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do ou agree or disagree?

That the responsibility of protecting the environment should be passed from the government to the local people seems to be refuted on account of the government's power for introducing laws along with the expenditure of measures being taken for saving the environment. The major ground of the impractically of such a notion would be that not only does the government have the power for adopting regulation and allotting budget for educational programmes, they also can control media and TV's programmes. Therefore, so as to preserve the environment, the government can adopt strict laws and make media focus on educating people through TV shows ranging from documentaries about the importance of nature to programmes regarding the dire consequences of spoiling the environment. Despite the fact that people have to obey the adopted laws and in some ways help the government such as introducing criminals, the vital role of the government is deniable. A second reason behind the failure of the theory of local's being made responsible for preserving nature by the government is the incredibly high expenses of protecting the environment. Most methods which exist for doing so are so expensive that local people can not afford them. People, albeit being in touch with the environment directly and contributing to both destroying and protecting the environment, can not take any step without financial support from the government. Thus, it is for the government to pay the expenditure of protecting nature and provide money from a variety of sources including raising taxes. Overall, in the light of the above-mentioned analysis with respect to the question of whether the government had better introduce locals as the major group responsible for protecting the environment, it appears to be rejected due to the role of the environment in controlling laws and media as well as environmentally-friendly approaches being unaffordable.