Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe the ministry should spend money on railways, instead of roads. While I can understand this view, I believe the government has to spend more money on roads than railways. On the one hand, it is true that with the development of technology, many people use transportations to move distribution to other places. For example, motor vehicles, such as cars and trucks are used to shift products. However, those kinds of vehicles cannot move very heavyweight luggage, thus, they can only carry a few pieces of luggage at one time. By contrast, although trains are a little bit slower than those vehicles, they can shift a huge amount of luggage in one train. Consequently, it is very effective and useful to the local community because it can reduce the cost of products. However, it is ok that the government should spend more money on roads. To begin with, it is true that the rail line is mainly used for transport, moreover, people have to spend a lot of resources, such as metal and wood, on constructing railways. However, roads are used in various ways. For example, many people travel and visit other places by road, and the community move their distribution with trucks or cars. Furthermore, the distributions are shifted faster to other areas, and it is true that people can make the road cheaper than trains. Therefore, if the government invests money on roads, we can get better results compared to the price of building railways. In conclusion, although the government might get some advantages when they spend money on railways, I believe the results will be much better when they invest money on road.