In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly, and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Healthcare system is the foundation that works to provide public health services for the citizens in each country. Public healthcare defers among countries; some countries provide free health care for their citizens. However, other countries impose a payment on the national health care services. Despite the payment method, the increased number of senior citizens due to the developed medical treatment, and the adoption of advanced technology into the health services, is putting massive pressure on the Healthcare system. I agree that changes need to be made to maintain the sustainability of the public healthcare system. However, I argue that making people pay in advance for their ageing treatment would not be the appropriate solution. This essay will explain the reasons behind my opinion and suggest a possible solution. The fundamental reason behind my disagreement is the lack of consideration since it is not fair for certain people. Some families suffer from poverty in every country, and they barely pay for their basic needs. Imposing a medical payment on these communities would increase the dangers of spreading diseases such as the case of Malaria. Malaria is an eliminated disease in a significant number of developed countries. However, it occurs mainly in poor areas of the world, such as Africa, which is the most affected. Overall, if the medical costs are going to be the individual's responsibility, it can lower the nation's health rate. Alternatively, governments could encourage those who can afford it to take up private healthcare arrangements. This could reduce the pressure on public healthcare, and at the same time, it will flourish the private medical sector. As a result, it will open the door for more employment chances and reflect on the domestic economy.