It is common these days to see celebrities endorsing brand products. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that brand product endorsement is getting more pervasive these days. Even though there are both benefits and drawbacks to this development, I believe that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. There are many benefits to celebrity endorsements, those can range from enhancing the credibility to gaining visibility for the brands. Firstly, young generations view celebrities as role models and they have blind confidence in those models, especially when it comes to supporting their idols with products they have endorsed. As a result, not only by featuring celebrities boosts brand awareness, it is also a promotional and powerful tool to help increase sales. Another positive aspect of these is that thanks to large celebrity networks and reputation, they easily reach millions of people through different mediums. Nevertheless, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. The main issue is that influencers endorsements of products to some certain extent are able to stimulate people to pay for unnecessary items or even wasteful goods. One example can be seen is that consumers tend to buy what they do not need or they already have, just for the fact that someone famous represents those brands. Consequently, they waste a great deal of money buying things even when their goods are still in good use or do not require replacement. Secondly, celebrities are public figures as they are not like an employee who can be trained to follow a company standard. If there are times when celebrities get caught in some controversies, this can greatly affect the brand. Despite whether the controversy or scandal relating to the endorser is true or not, the company is still likely to be dragged and affected by it. This often results in losses of revenue, and in the long run, might cause damages to the product perception and its brand image. In conclusion, I believe that although brand endorsement does offer certain benefits, it generally does more harm than good. It is understandable why some may argue but I can not support such a view given the aforementioned reasons.