Some people argue that because the internet makes it so easy for children to access facts, schools should not focus on teaching facts. Instead, they should focus on developing children’s skills and potential, and their relationships with other people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a dramatic change in education brought about by the growing advancement of technology today. It has become a more contentious issue on how children should learn. Some adults believe that school should promote their skills and potential and relationships with others as they tend to rely on electric gadgets to gain much information by themselves. I generally disagree with this, for academic knowledge maintains its importance to make a better choice in the future. On the one hand, there will be more benefits since students increase their sense of satisfaction when schools concentrate on developing their individual skills. In other words, they are more motivated to externalize their opinions and talents than to sit quietly and take notes in lectures. For instance, students are more likely to improve social skills including communication skills, leadership, and teamwork through their participation in presentations and discussions. This results in boosting their fulfilment as they are required to make a positive commitment and utilise various intelligence and techniques. In contrast, the traditional teaching style which tends to put more focus on knowledge is no longer able to satisfy their mind of curiosity with the flood of information available on their own smartphone and computer. On the other hand, in spite of such incredible advantages, the significance of academic knowledge should not be ignored because they are promoted to increase the sophistication of individuals. While online information is often based on no facts and evidence easily posted by anonymous writers, schools play a fundamental role in providing a dependable source of information whose contents are strictly checked by professional educators. Indeed, the accumulation of valuable knowledge allows them to make correct decisions in life. For example, understanding the kinds of nutrients included in each fruit and vegetable promotes their awareness of the importance of food and avoiding unhealthy products. Therefore, schools should maintain their primary role to give useful knowledge which directly impacts their life. In conclusion, the growing impact of technological gadgets may reduce the importance of schools in providing information. However, it should take the primary responsibility to give trusted facts so they are more likely to make an appropriate choice in life. As a result, increasing knowledge of the truth will allow students to distinguish the difference between right and wrong.