Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

International sports event such as the Olympic Games is a long-standing tradition where athletes from all over the globe gather in the host country to compete. There are both advantages and disadvantages for a country to host such sporting events and I personally think that it is bad for a country to host if the country is in the developing stage. This essay will discuss both points of view. Hosting an international sports event is beneficial to a country in an economic sense. Many supporters from all around the world will travel to, stay, and spend in the host location, and this will generate a high level of spending in the country. For example, the hotels, food and beverages, and many small businesses will benefit from the tourist that comes to enjoy the games. Thus, from this point of view, the country will enjoy a boost in its economy. On the other hand, to host a large scale event such as the Olympic Games, a country needs to invest a huge sum of money to develop multiple sporting infrastructures, as well as athlete villages for the participants to stay. Such investment, for a developing country, may as well be used to improve the country's public infrastructure such as roads, hospitals, and schools. Moreover, the stadiums and other facilities for the event will be left unused after the event, which requires additional funds to maintain. For instance, in Brazil, most of the facilities are deteriorating, and the government has no choice but to demolish some of them to avoid paying additional costs for maintenance. Therefore, the cost incurred to host such global events is bad for developing countries. To summarise, there are both pros and cons for a country to host an international sporting event. Depending on the status of the country, there will be more disadvantages than advantages to hosting the event. In view of this, the government should take great consideration before deciding on whether or not to host large scale events such as the Olympics.