With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the technological age today, almost all of our aspects of life have been transformed, and this includes health care. An improvement in health care facilities means people will live longer, and there will be more elderly to take care of. Can society cope with this? I strongly believe that society will be able to handle and provide good care for our senior citizens. To ensure that we can manage the situation, full backing is required from the government. In my country, Malaysia, we have a high proportion of elderly, and the government has helped build more hospitals and medical clinics around my area. These public clinics provide competent nurses that can help to ensure the health of the elderly in a specific location. Furthermore, discounted prices on medical consultations and medicine are also offered to the senior citizen. On the other hand, the private sector can play a role in taking responsibility for our elder population. For example, a renowned property developer in Malaysia has developed a modern old age home, that is equipped with good facilities to reduce incidents in the house. On top of this, many employers nowadays have additional insurance coverage for the retiree, and some of them provide continuous coverage up until 80 years old. Thus, with the backing of private organisations, our elderly will be able to get adequate care. To summarise, with the full support of the public and private sectors, we as a society can definitely cope with the increase in the numbers of elderly individuals in our country. Additional hospitals and medical clinics help the elderly manage their health, and with more and more old people-friendly facilities are built, we can continue to give full support to our senior citizens in the country.