Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Certain governments spend a lot of public money to train their athletes to be successful in international sporting events meanwhile, some people said the allocation should be channelled on things that benefited the general public more. I partially disagree with the statement. In my opinion, the budget allocation should be well-balanced instead. Either highest achievement in sports or community's needs, both are equally important. For example, sports school. The development of such not only managed to produce a good athlete but also an academician. Here, the basic input of a student is being taken care of, academic and non-academic subjects, hence, more active students can be produced. Second, the sport's infrastructures should not be mutually exclusive for athletes unless it is private property. The places must be opened to the public as well. They are the taxes payers and they,of course, should be very delighted to use the arena or swimming pool. Further, a healthy lifestyle manage to be promoted here. In turn, many modifiable diseases such as heart attack can be reduced in our country. On the other hand, if the allocation is focused on non-mainstream sports, I totally disagree. Only one side of the parties seems to gain the benefit. To illustrate, let us take handball sport as an example. In Malaysia, this game is not really popular indeed, not many people want to play it due to many reasons. One of them is exposure to primary and secondary students. At this stage no point in the government spending a lot of money to build up an international level handball arena because minimal citizens would like to play it. In conclusion, budget allocations for sports and the public should be planned and must be equally distributed so that both sides get the advantages between taxpayers and the government.