It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that equipping almost all youngsters with tertiary education is impossible and unnecessary. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this idea. Having a university degree has a vital role in the future of young people in this knowledge-based society. There is no doubt that studying at university is a good way for the young generation to accumulate knowledge in diverse fields which is required for their future careers. For instance, nowadays, in the recruitment process of businesses, employers not only review candidates’ profiles but also conduct several tests to check how the applicants understand the industry they are applying for. In addition, having formal qualifications is very useful to the resume of a young person when they officially take part in the national workforce. In this case, qualifications act as the passport for them to gain the first approval before they go through lots of other next hiring steps. We can not deny the fact that some people can become successful without studying at university, though this scenario would never happen for a high proportion of young people. At the same time, I strongly believe that it is possible to provide almost all young people with tertiary education from both economic and quality control perspectives. Firstly, from an economic view, the government does not need to build huge universities which can hurt their budget to equip students with knowledge. Instead, they can share the responsibility with provincial authorities in terms of facilitating university places for youngsters so that each province can own and control several academic institutions. Furthermore, to ensure high quality in the training process, it is a beneficial way to recruit not only academics but experienced executives in the real world as well. This may reduce the pressure for hiring enough lecturers and can diversify the sources of knowledge at the same time. In conclusion, we should and can provide our young generation with tertiary education since it is vital to create well-equipped labor in the future.