Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this good thing or a bad thing?

With the increasing influence of social media, it is observed that a majority of the population prefers wearing branded and fashionable clothing. This essay will discuss the causes of this and understand if this practice is beneficial. There are several reasons that explain why people like to wear expensive clothes. Firstly, the millennials are influenced by the status quo, thereby associating the dressing style with the status they hold in society. Secondly, a number of high school students fall prey to peer pressure and are forced to buy branded clothes in order to fit in the crowd or groups within schools. Thirdly, owing to the growing number of influencers across social media, an increasing number of people want to wear what they see on the internet and mimic their fashion sense. Lastly, the idea of renting clothes has been frowned upon over the past years, making it necessary for individuals to purchase these over-priced pieces of clothing instead of renting them. However, this can have several repercussions for families who can barely make ends meet. For instance, parents are forced to meet the growing demands of their children to buy clothes that are difficult for them to afford, as compared to investing that money for their future. Further, this could also impact the small businesses as the majority of the population would prefer luxury brands over their products, thereby hampering their growth in the industry. In conclusion, people wear fashionable attire either to highlight their status in society or out of peer pressure. The negatives of this outweigh the positives and wearing unbranded basic clothes should be normalized within society.