Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The debate about when to start learning a second language is more beneficial for students has become vital these days. While some people argue that students should not accept a new dialect before familiar with their mother tongue, others believe that dialect learning should begin from primary school than secondary school. The main advantage is that the younger children are, the higher feasibility for language learning. Children in primary school is learning new things mainly through listening and speaking which is the best time for them to expose to a bilingual environment. Therefore, they absorb the foreign accent smoothly by immersing in different cultural conversations and gaming. For instance, students who start to develop a second language in primary school can talk with foreigners without thinking about grammar or translating between two languages. Thus, they are more confident and brave to embrace new cultures and knowledge. On the other hand, one possible drawback is some admission who have to learn two languages at the same time find it hard to acquire good scores in both subjects. For example, children who study in their mother tongue in the morning and are lectured in a foreign language divided their concentricity into two parts are harder to have excellent performance in both sides. In addition, especially in the writing aspect, they might give up practicing the character which is harder to write. In conclusion, I believe that the advantage of learning a foreign language earlier at primary school outweighs the disadvantage. Children are earlier be familiar with a secondary accents would more comfortable when they need to use it.