Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions would you suggest?

Smoking is hazardous to health and our environment. While being aware of the effects of smoking many people still smoke across the globe. Particularly smoking affects the lungs of humans as well as could be detrimental to overall health. Firstly, rising prices for products of tobacco and nicotine can be one of the solutions. Secondly, making people aware of the health risks because of smoking could be another solution. To begin with there are myriad diseases that are associated with smoking. People are not aware of the consequences and they continue to smoke. Meanwhile, prolonged smoking could be dangerous and could lead to lung cancer. For instance, in a survey it is found that non-smokers can do physical exercise more than smokers. Furthermore, mouth ulcers, squamous cell carcinoma can develop in the mouth which rapidly develops in a mouth when ignored. Poor people are affected more because they have no facilities to show their symptoms as they are unaware of diseases caused due to smoking. Government should allow free oral screening tests for such people. Moreover, campaigning for health awareness could also be a solution. Another possible solution like an increase in the price of cigarettes, tobacco which could also deter people from purchasing more nicotine products. To conclude, undoubtedly there are multiple reasons to quit smoking but people are unaware of the bad effects of tobacco. Thus, making people aware of the disadvantages and increasing the price of such products could help to combat this problem. Measures taken by the government like free checkups and campaigning could help society to overcome this addiction.