The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Smoking is the main factor of Non communicable Diseases or NCD, that leads to the cause of death in humans. There are many adverse effects of smoking, thus many scientific papers have proved the relative risk of many chronic diseases. However, some people still smoked and there are many categories of smoking products that are available in the market. There are more than 10 substances in tobacco usage and Tar and Nicotine are most common found dangerous chemical agents that cause many diseases in the human body. There are many publications that showed smoking related to oral cancer, lung cancer, high risk of cardiovascular events, myocardial infarction and so on. Moreover, there are some relationships between smokers who have less life expectancy compared to those who never smoked. Some people say that habits can be changed or adjusted within 7 weeks. There are many programs for supporting smoking cessation. One of the most successful programs is called “ 3 A “ method, the first A is to ask, the healthcare worker or healthcare officer will ask the smokers for quitting smoking habit by educating them and show the drawback effects. The second A is to give them some advice, they would give the smoker about the method to reducing smoking gradually and refer to psychologists for providing more information. And lastly, the last A is to assist, the health- care worker will take part as an assistant for encouraging smokers to avoid using tobacco in long term and monitor their symptoms every year. Nevertheless, there are many strategies that have been confirmed for reducing smoking in the heavy smokers such as MI or Motivated intervention or 5 A, that could make smoking cessation accomplished. In conclusion, even there were no magic bulletproof or specific ways to reduce smoking in people who were addicted to tobacco or other smoking substances. We need to integrate the most appropriate way for behaviour changing and encourage smokers to quit and generate their individual awareness. Lastly, "no blame culture" is also effective to those who smoked and we need to emphasize the side effects of smoking that cause many damages to their healths, families and communities.