With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Due to the recent advancements in health care, the average life expectancy has been increasing for the last few decades. That is why now the proportion of elder individuals is far more than the past. This development brings many challenges for society, I believe that society would tackle the situation very well with proper planning and resources allocation. To begin with, there are certain issues related to the elderly population in a community. First and foremost, aged individuals are vulnerable to various illnesses such as heart diseases, stroke, and cancers due to the wear and tear process in their bodies and the decrease in the immune response. Resultantly, the community needs more spending on health care which affects other social well-being projects. But the incidences of various diseases can significantly be reduced by efficient preventive services and lifestyle modification. For example, obesity is a major reason for heart disease, which can be prevented by running awareness campaigns in society. Furthermore, elderly people cannot work as efficiently as young people could do, so they are an extra burden on the country’s economy. As they have lifelong experience which they can teach to young generation to enhance their productivity, meanwhile they can play their roles as mentors. Last but not the least, few elderly individuals when losing their partners and are reluctant to make new partners that can lead to mental disorders like anxiety and depression. The government must develop state-of-the-art mental health care facilities to minimize mental health issues for instance psychotherapy and rehabilitation centres for single elderly people. In conclusion, the modernization of health services has increased the geriatric populace which brings many problems for the whole society. It is the need of the hour to utilize the resources in the best way to combat those challenges.