Write about the following topic: A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been an ongoing debate about whether people's value should be measured by their social status and property, and that core values in the past are no longer crucial. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this opinion and will elaborate more on this in my essay. Firstly, a person's possessions do not reflect their true self. Judging them based solely on their finances and status would be unethical and unfair, as it is true that a person who is poor can have better characteristics and abilities than a person who is rich. For example, a person who is poor but has a good heart is Mother Teresa. Though she took a vow of poverty and lived a life of minimal material possessions, she dedicated her life to serving the poor, sick, and dying. She founded the Missionaries of Charity, a religious congregation that provided care for those in need, showing immense compassion and love despite her own lack of wealth. Meanwhile, there are a number of wealthy politicians and leaders who committed embezzlement. Thus, I believe that it hinders development, recognition, opportunities, and justice among people. Moreover, I strongly argue that traits such as honour, kindness, and trust are significant in a number of social circumstances since they form the foundation of meaningful and lasting relationships, foster a sense of community, and create environments where individuals can thrive. An experiment proved that a child values the love shown to them more than the toys and gifts by parents, highlighting a need for these essential mental values rather than a material craving in human beings. In conclusion, while money and materials are sometimes prioritized in life, I still believe that values such as honesty should be valued more as they promote human well-being and true self.