Some people think that people who have committed crimes should do unpaid community work such as helping a charity or cleaning the streets, rather than spending time in prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals propose that some criminals can do community work for free as a way of punishment instead of being in prison. I strongly agree with this method because it has advantages for both criminals themselves and charity organizations. On the one hand, criminals can have a happy life by working for charity organizations. This is mainly because they will gain a sense of fulfilment and achievement through helping others, especially when they are helping disabled children with their daily care. They may be touched by children’s braveness to overcome disabilities so that they will be inspired to move on their remaining lives back to the majority society. For instance, if one of these criminals has a natural instinct for teaching these disabled children, the person would pursue a career as a teacher once his or her punishment is over. On the other hand, charity organizations will be beneficial because of the criminals ’ free work. Criminals who are paid for nothing can provide free labour for charity organizations which usually have limited funds. As a result, these institutions can use this free labour to deliver piles of food to poor communities and train these special caregivers to look after the elderly or disabled. For instance, if an enthusiastic young organizer who has no money has a kind of will to help others, the young organizer could lead a group of these special caregivers to solve the vulnerable communities’ problems. In conclusion, their participation in community services is a considerably good idea. However, some severe criminals such as murderers should not be permitted to participate in unpaid community work.